Patricia Simon: Cleft Patient to Smile Maker

Simon Header

Former cleft patient and long-time Smile Train supporter Patricia Simon explains why she’s dedicated her life to being an advocate for those affected by cleft lip and palate.

My name is Patricia Simon and I was born with a cleft lip and palate. I had very supportive parents who were able to provide me with cleft surgeries and speech therapy and I could always count on the love and support of my four siblings and friends. I was fortunate, but my family and I also had to traverse a great deal of challenges in my road to cleft repair, which has led me to become an advocate for others affected by cleft lip and palate.

As a registered nurse, I get to work hands-on with people facing health issues in my community. Over the years, I’ve been able to care for babies born with cleft lips and palates and provide support to their families. I’ve found that it’s very comforting for parents to get advice from a medical professional who faced the same situation. My goal is to lead my patients to appropriate care so they can come out of it with a positive and optimistic outlook.

I know how frustrating ongoing medical care can be. Over the last two years, I underwent multiple surgeries to build bone for my palate in order to accommodate dental implants for my two front teeth.

Going through medical care as an adult was one of the many reasons I decided to start my own website called Smile with Simon and my blog Simon Says Smile Today. These sites offers support, information, and an opportunity to network with others affected by cleft lip and palate and other craniofacial conditions. I hope that others will benefit from my knowledge and children can find a space to navigate through difficult social situations, such as bullying.

Birds 300I’m also trying my hand at writing a children’s book about cleft lip and palate. The story is about Simon, a cardinal born with a separation in his beak. It will be a story of love, acceptance, and kindness. It will speak to the importance that a smile has on others. Smiling is so important for the soul!

What counts in life is not the mere fact that we have lived. It is what difference we have made in the lives of others that will determine the significance of the life we lead -Nelson Mandela

3 thoughts on “Patricia Simon: Cleft Patient to Smile Maker

  1. Patty, you are my hero. Keep up the great work! You are bringing more smiles to other people not only with all your experiences but also with your wonderful wit and humor!
    Even though we’ve been together for 24 years, you never cease to amaze me .
    Your loving partner and wife,
    Colleen

  2. Pat has always made me smile and is so witty on top of her caring and friendly personality!?what a great book for everyone to show compassion, but especially for those with cleft palate.

Leave a Reply

