Pamela Sheeran Power Of A Smile

Pam Header

Pamela Sheeran, Vice President and Regional Director, Latin America talks about what the Power Of A Smile means to her.

What inspired you to work at Smile Train?
Before I started working for Smile Train, I spent a significant amount of time working in the Dominican Republic, Guatemala and Haiti. I noticed that in spite of the numerous dedicated international health NGOs and aid agencies working in these countries, there were still many families in need of basic health services.
During that time, I also met many amazing local professionals eager to be a part of their communities’ solutions. With training and resources, they would make sure the need in their respective neighborhoods’, cities’ and countries’ needs would be met.
So when I heard about Smile Train’s unique model of empowering local professionals so they can provide top quality, free cleft care to families in their local communities, I knew I had to get aboard the train.

How has your involvement with Smile Train made you look at the Power Of A Smile differently?
Now I understand that a smile represents the fact that so many people have come together, all in the name of a child in need of a simple, yet life-changing surgery. From the donor in his/her home, to the staffer in the Smile Train NY office, to the local hospital and team in the developing world, and to the rural community where the patient lives, so many people from all corners of the world all seamlessly come together to create a smile for a child in need. When I see a smile, now I see all of the generous people involved with making sure it can happen.

What has the Power Of A Smile done for you in your life?
It has taught me enjoy my smile. It is powerful, so use it wisely and often. A smile is so powerful that I’ve decided to dedicate my life to helping others find theirs.

3 thoughts on “Pamela Sheeran Power Of A Smile

  1. Great work great job, I also work for Cleft Lip and Cleft Palate patients all over Pakistan and Afghanistan with an Organization CLAPP Trust which was partner of Smiletrain since 2013. I want to send you some plctures of our patients,may I?

Leave a Reply

