From Cleft Patient to Cleft Surgeon: Zhou Xiaomin’s Story

After Surgery(STX ID:GD-4-08-01093)“I was shy, and helpless, the world became pale in front of me. For a very long time I didn’t dare to smile, I was at war with my heart. I spent most of my life overcoming an inferiority about my deformity and my life was filled with inner anguish.”

This is how Zhou Xiaomin felt his whole life, before he received surgery to fix his cleft lip four years ago. Zhou says he grew up in an ordinary rural home in China and he tried to hide his inner anguish from his family. Zhou says, “I needed to teach myself that I had to let go, I belonged to the world too. Life is hard for a lot of people and it was time to pursue my freedom.”

After high school, Zhou decided to pursue a profession in the field of stomatology, the study of the mouth. He was admitted to Gunagzhou Medical College as a postgraduate in 2009. He was instructed by Dr. Zheng Cangshang, director of Stomatology Department of Shenzhen 2nd People’s Hospital, which is a Smile Train partner hospital.

SONY DSCZhou says, “Dr. Cangshang’s positive attitude toward life and helpful spirit deeply affected me, and it filled me with hope for the future.” After years of waiting, Zhou requested that Dr. Cangshang perform his cleft surgery, financed by Smile Train. After the surgery took place in 2010 Zhou said, “My life changed completely since then. I began to learn to smile”.

Now Zhou, better known as Dr. Zhou, is finally the confident young man that he always knew he could be. His dream of becoming a cleft treatment surgeon is coming true, and he has a lot more to smile about. Zhou says he wants to devote his professional knowledge and skills to help more Smile Train patients.

He would like to share his story to encourage more Smile Train patients to change their lives as well. “As a doctor, I will devote all my lifetime to help the children with cleft lip and palate, but we have a lot of work to do. Thanks to Smile Train, you gave me hope and the courage to change myself,” says Zhou.

 

One thought on “From Cleft Patient to Cleft Surgeon: Zhou Xiaomin’s Story

Leave a Reply

