Li Suhai: An Improbable College Dream

Li Suhai after his follow up nose revision surgery

Li Suhai after his follow up nose revision surgery

Henan, ChinaIn his own words, 22 year old Li Suhai talks about the obstacles he had to overcome while growing up with a cleft in order to attend college.

My name is Li Suhai, I am 22 years old, and this is my story. I was born in a remote village of Henan and my family was very poor. My childhood was spent in misery and ridicule. Other children called me “rabbit lip”, and I was always fighting with them. Even though I wanted to speak, my words did not come out clearly which made me extremely angry and frustrated. Gradually I began to feel inferior and alienated by others.

In hopes of finding a cure for my birth defect, my father sold our only pig and took me to see a doctor in town, but sadly the money was not enough. My father and I returned home that day feeling hopeless. I secretly vowed that one day I would go to college to change my life, and help my family.

In 2003, when I was six, my father heard a message from our neighbor’s radio that a hospital in Zhoukou treats cleft lip and palate patients from Henan for free. With a heart full of hope, my father took me to Zhoukou Central Hospital. Stomatology director, Zhang Yuejin warmly received us, and reimbursed our travel expenses. Before long I got my surgery, and I will never forget the happy look on my father’s face when I revealed my new smile.

Since receiving help from Smile Train I have kept forging ahead in my life. I completed elementary school and went on to complete high school. Being encouraged and motivated by Smile Train’s spirit, I enjoyed learning, and step by step I have tried to improve my knowledge every day. All my hard work paid off the autumn day when I got the admission notice to my favorite college. It was a very important turning point in my life, and my college dream came true thanks to Smile Train.

Very big thanks to Smile Train and Zhoukou Central Hospital for returning hope into my life. I will continue to be grateful, work hard, and dedicate my time to bettering society, and giving back to everyone who cares for me.

Leave a Reply

