January Social Post of the Month

Mariam before and after her recent Smile Train surgery.

Mariam before and after her recent Smile Train surgery.

Smile Train partner surgeon Dr. Emmanuel Kofi Amponsah.

Smile Train partner surgeon Dr. Emmanuel Kofi Amponsah.


Sunyani, GhanaDr. Emmanuel Kofi Amponsah a Smile Train partner surgeon at the Nationwide Cleft Foundation in Ghana post the following story to our Smile Train Facebook Page recently his most recent patient, Mariam.

This is a cleft patient I found on my New Year’s trip to Nkoranza North District in Ghana. While in Busunyaa, the capital of Nkoranza North District, I was called by a community health nurse who had heard me speak about cleft on the radio. She had found a child born with a cleft lip. Lo and behold when I went to examine the child I found this nice girl named Mariam. I immediately transported her and her mum to Sunyani Regional Hospital, where I run my Smile Train program. She was admitted on January 6th, operated on January 7th, and discharged home January 8th. She will come for follow up on the 15th of this month.

One thought on “January Social Post of the Month

  1. God bless all the Dr’s who do such a marvelous job, I wish I had your God given gift to help these lovely little children. Keep up the good work as they depend on you. Xx

Leave a Reply

