A Note of Thanks From the Mother of a Smile Train Patient

Smile Train patient Lucas before and after receiving excellent cleft care

Curitiba, BrazilA note from the mother of one of our patients that was given to and translated by our partner CAIF/AFISSUR after the excellent care her son received during his free cleft surgery and follow ups.

Lucas is my first child. I got prenatal care in the Public Health System and the ultrasound did not show any problems, so I expected Lucas to be a normal baby. I was really shocked when he was born with a cleft lip and palate. Due to his cleft, he spent eight days in the hospital. At the beginning due to our shock over his cleft and the problems he had nursing, everything was very difficult for me and my family.

“For a long time, I felt guilty for Lucas’ cleft lip and palate. I assumed it was because of the way I acted during the time I was pregnant. However, after arriving at CAIF/AFISSUR, I was welcomed by a team of professionals and heard about Smile Train’s free cleft surgery program.

“With the help of this team and Smile Train, Lucas is getting high quality treatment and he can have a normal life just like other children his age. I don’t have enough words to thank CAIF/AFISSUR and Smile Train.”

One thought on “A Note of Thanks From the Mother of a Smile Train Patient

  1. Family members of our own are the most important, however, helping the ones who have the difficulties on the globe is precious.  Smile Train is serving with the socirties as a result. Lovely, indeed.
    私はSmile Trainの趣旨に賛同しドネーションをしております。 須田裕明

Leave a Reply

